The Music of Leroy Anderson


Catherine Wilson, piano
Skitch Henderson, Conductor
Members of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra and Ensemble

Buy Now

This tremendously satisfying 2-CD compilation is a tribute to one of America’s true originals. It features Leroy Anderson’s only Piano Concerto performed by Catherine Wilson and the Toronto Symphony, as well as unique chamber and solo settings of his much beloved sparkling, elegant music that were written especially for Ensemble Vivant by incomparable Canadian jazz great Rick Wilkins, C.M. This recording includes beautiful, sensitive interpretations of familiar as well as of lesser known Anderson compositions. You will also hear the world premiere of seven Leroy Anderson arrangements of his own compositions for various combinations of instruments on this exciting and very important recording.

Disc One

  1. Piano Concerto in C: Allegro Moderato
  2. Piano Concerto in C: Andante
  3. Piano Concerto in C: Allegro Vivo
  4. The Syncopated Clock
  5. I Never Know When
  6. Promenade
  7. Forgotten Dreams
  8. Bugler’s Holiday
  9. The First Day of Spring
  10. Saraband
  11. Lady in Waiting
  12. The Girl in Satin
  13. The Minstrel Boy
  14. Jazz Pizzicato
  15. Jazz Legato
  16. The Typewriter

Disc Two

  1. Sleigh Ride
  2. Trumpeter’s Lullaby
  3. Belle of the Ball
  4. Turn Ye to Me
  5. Serenata
  6. The Golden Years
  7. Fiddle Faddle
  8. Summer Skies
  9. The Waltzing Cat
  10. Saraband
  11. Sandpaper Ballet
  12. Arietta
  13. Jazz Legato
  14. Plink, Plank, Plunk
  15. Clarinet Candy
  16. Song of the Bells
  17. Blue Tango

“Catherine Wilson’s affinity for Anderson’s music is much in evidence in this delightful recording…her sensitive piano playing shines.”
– Joseph So, La Scena Musicale

“Catherine Wilson was sensational in her performance of the Leroy Anderson Piano Concerto at Carnegie Hall with Skitch Henderson conducting the New York Pops. She brings a special lyric sensitivity to her performance, along with meticulous technical ability. Her presence and affinity for the piece are palpable.”
– Mrs. Leroy Anderson

“A thoroughly enjoyable album.”
– Boston Herald