Homage to Astor Piazzolla


Catherine Wilson, piano and artistic director
Erica Beston, violin
Amy Laing, cello
Sharon Prater, cello
Dave Young, bass
Dave Campion, percussion
Philip Seguin, percussion

Buy Now

This beautiful recording of music by Argentine tango master Astor Piazzolla was released on the Opening Day Entertainment Group Label in 2011. Ensemble Vivant has received critical acclaim internationally in both the classical and jazz worlds for their passionate, lyrically intense and sensuous interpretations of Piazzolla’s music. The group worked closely with Piazzolla expert Julien Labro, who also wrote all but one of the arrangements for this iconic recording.


  1. Fuga Y Mysterio
  2. Adiós Nonino
  3. Tango Del Diablo
  4. Romance Del Diablo
  5. Vayamos Al Diablo
  6. Oblivion
  7. Libertango
  8. Ave Maria
  9. Undertango
  10. Introducción Al Ángel
  11. Milonga Del Ángel
  12. La Muerte Del Ángel
  13. Resurrección Del Ángel
  14. Milonga For Three

Ensemble Vivant - Erica Beston, violin; Catherine Wilson, piano/artistic director; Sharon Prater, cello Photo by Denise Grant“This disc sings with heartfelt passion, tenderness, elegance and originality…a precious contribution to the roster of existing Piazzolla recordings…destined to become a classic.”
– Julien Labro – accordionist, bandoneonist, composer, arranger

“Catherine Wilson and this wonderful group of musicians have totally captured the romance and passion of Astor Piazzolla’s music. This is a truly beautiful CD.”
– Don Thompson, O.C. musician, composer

“To my heart, your rendition of Oblivion is the most touching I have ever heard: Bravo!”
– François Paré, Radio-Classique, Montréal

“This is wonderful playing. The vitality with which the ensemble brings to these pieces is palpable. One needn’t have Latin blood in their veins to discern the commitment these musicians have to this project. ”
– Rick Wilkins C.M., musician, composer, arranger

“Toronto’s Ensemble Vivant does a fantastic job with the nuevo tango of Argentinean composer Astor Piazzolla…these musicians capture the passion as well as the verve…the tango rhythm is there from beginning to end…careful layering for mood and tempo in Julien Labro’s arrangements…Wilson’s piano gives this music unerring drive and plenty of sparkle.”
– John Terauds, Toronto Star

“Ensemble Vivant live up to their name with this lively, spirited and affecting production…flawlessly executed…Ensemble Vivant’s heartbreakingly beautiful rendition of Adios Nonino alone is reason enough to add this disc to the collection – but it’s hardly the only one.”
– Chris Morgan, Scene Magazine

“Ensemble Vivant is led by piano virtuoso Catherine Wilson, and features violinist Erica Beston, cellists Amy Laing and Sharon Prater, Dave Young on bass, with Dave Campion and Philip Seguin manning percussion. It all makes for an exciting and vibrant album that is a sure fire hit.”
– Terrence London, Musical Heritage Society Magazine, U.S.A.

“Tango anyone? Ensemble Vivant shines! … one of the best small chamber groups out there is led by pianist extraordinaire Catherine Wilson…Homage to Astor Piazzolla gets 5 out of 5 stars”.
– Maxwell Fletcher, Amazon.com U.S.A.