Fête française


Catherine Wilson, piano
Ensemble Vivant

Buy Now

This is a gorgeous recording of post-romantic french piano chamber music which includes a breath-takingly beautiful performance of the rarely recorded Piano Trio in G Major by Claude Debussy; exquisite performances of the North American premiere of Soirs D’Alsace, a suite of four pieces for piano, violin and cello, which Ensemble Vivant’s pianist and artistic director Catherine Wilson discovered at the Biblioteque National de France in Paris; a stunning performance of the rarely recorded Septet in E Flat Major for piano, trumpet and 5 strings by Camille Saint-Saëns.

  1. Trio in G Major (Claude Debussey)
  2. Andantino con Molto Allegro
  3. Scherzo Intermezzo
  4. Andante Espressivo
  5. Finale soirs d’alsace, op 52 (Charles-marie Widor)
  6. En Route!
  7. Ciel d’orage
  8. Le calme renait
  9. Promenade sentimentale, Septet in E Flat Major, op. 65
  10. Préambule
  11. Menuet
  12. Intermède
  13. Gavotte et finale

“Beautiful, poised performances reveal the deep musicianship and light interpretive touch of these Toronto-based musicians led by pianist Catherine Wilson.”
– John Terauds, Toronto Star

“Wonderful performance…congratulations to Ensemble Vivant for uncovering these works and presenting them with their usual flare.”
– David Olds, WholeNote Magazine, Canada